University: Home | Calendar | Maps

Donate to the Center button

Join Our Mailing List button

Find us on Google+

Gold Humanism Honor Society


The Arnold P. Gold Foundation's mission is to perpetuate the tradition of the caring doctor by emphasizing the importance of the relationship between the practitioner and the patient. Our objective is to help physicians-in-training become doctors who combine the high tech skills of cutting edge medicine with the high touch skills of effective communication, empathy and compassion.

The Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) comprises individuals who have been recognized for practicing patient-centered medical care by modeling the qualities of integrity, excellence, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy. Members may be selected as 3rd and 4th year medical students.  Residents, faculty and administrators may also be recognized for humanistic practice at various stages in their careers. 

University of Texas Health Science Center chapter

Faculty Mentors:

Thomas L. Matthews, MD
Assistant Dean for Students

Richard Usatine, MD
Assistant Director of Humanities Education


2016 - 2017: Morgan Bailey, Tennessee Bailey, Akshaya Bandaru, Shaoli Chaudhuri, Grace Cheney, Teresa Chueng, Alexander Constantine, Lauren Fanty, Adrienne Feltman, John Flores, Sofia Girod, Rutger Gunther, Anu Kapadia, Aurora Kareh, Christine Khong, Alison Kimura, Christopher Lam, Duyen "My" Le, Ariana Lewis, Jessica Malek, Heidi McDonald, Brian Mugleston, Shannon Murray, Sara Noble, Rachel Redfield, Nicholas Salerno, Jay Shiao, Faryal Siddiqui, Nadia Silva, Monica Sok, Tyler Stewart, Alban Tomaj


2015 - 2016: Juan Avila, Julia Blood, Amanda Cady, Alejandro Candil, Henrik Close, Suzanne Davis, Cheri Dijamco, Ryan Egbert, Andrew Ence, Alyssa Esmail, Taylor Fitch, Erin Foster, Camille Graham, Janitzio Guzman, Rebecca Hernandez, Courtney Hobza, Elise Hull, Stefan Jensen, Kristopher Koch, Angeline Mariani, Brian Milman, Omer Mirza, Tina Motazedi, Alyssa Murata, Lucia Nguyen, Stephanie Ossowski, Ly-Elaine Pham, Allison Pye, Michelle Rodriguez, Nicholas Rojas, Monica Ruiz, Robert Vasko, Patrick Young


2014 - 2015:


2013 - 2014: Jerry Abraham, Immaculeta Achilike, Nupur Agrawal, Caroline Camosy, Christine Cortelyou, Eileen Curry, Matthew Deel, Maeghan Gibson, Andrea Goode, Megan Gribbons, Anna Haring, Amanda Lipsitt, Bryan Lublin, Caitlin McAllister, Rachel Mehendale, M David Meyer, Matthew Mullane, Neelima Navuluri, Serena Okoronkwo, Travis Reece-Nguyen, Kristy Riniker, Jillian Rushing, Lisa Sawyer, Summer Scavone, Eric Schmidgal, Jason Thompson, Aida Vigil, Eric Wait, Krista Young, Amy Yu